List of Countries That No Longer Exist

List of Countries That No Longer Exist

As countries merge, split, or just decide to change their name, the list of “missing” countries that no longer exist grows.

1) Abyssinia

The name of Ethiopia until the early 20th century.

2) Austria-Hungary

A monarchy (also known as the Austro-Hungarian Empire) that was established in 1867 and included not just Austria and Hungary, but also parts of the Czech Republic, Poland, Italy, Romania, and the Balkans. The empire collapsed at the end of World War I.

3) Basutoland

Lesotho’s name prior to 1966.

4) Bengal

An independent kingdom from 1338-1539, now part of Bangladesh and India.

5) Burma

Burma officially changed its name to Myanmar in 1989 but many countries still aren’t recognizing the change, such as the United States.

6) Catalonia

This autonomous region of Spain was independent from 1932-1934 and 1936-1939.

7) Ceylon

Changed its name to Sri Lanka in 1972.

8) Champa

Located in south and central Vietnam from the 7th century through 1832.

9) Corsica

This Mediterranean island was ruled by various nations over the course of history but had several brief periods of independence. Today, Corsica is a department of France.

10) Czechoslovakia

Peacefully split into the Czech Republic and Slovakia in 1993.

11) East Germany and West Germany

Merged in 1989 to form a unified Germany.

12) East Pakistan

This province of Pakistan from 1947-1971 became Bangladesh.

13) Gran Colombia

A South American country that included what is now Colombia, Panama, Venezuela, and Ecuador from 1819-1830. Gran Colombia ceased to exist when Venezuela and Ecuador seceded.

14) Hawaii

Though a kingdom for hundreds of years, Hawaii wasn’t recognized as an independent country until the 1840s. The country was annexed to the U.S. in 1898.

15) New Granada

This South American country was part of Gran Colombia from 1819-1830 and was independent from 1830-1858. In 1858, the country became known as the 16 Grenadine Confederation, then the United States of New Granada in 1861, the United States of Colombia in 1863, and finally, the Republic of Colombia in 1886.

16) Newfoundland

From 1907 to 1949, Newfoundland existed as the self-governing Dominion of Newfoundland. In 1949, Newfoundland joined Canada as a province

17) North Yemen and South Yemen

Yemen split in 1967 into two countries, North Yemen (a.k.a. Yemen Arab Republic) and South Yemen (a.k.a. People’s Democratic Republic of Yemen). However, in 1990 the two rejoined to form a unified Yemen.

18) Ottoman Empire

Also known as the Turkish Empire, this empire began around 1300 and expanded to include parts of contemporary Russia, Turkey, Hungary, the Balkans, northern Africa, and the Middle East. The Ottoman Empire ceased to exist in 1923 when Turkey declared independence from what remained of the empire.

19) Persia

The Persian Empire extended from the Mediterranean Sea to India. Modern Persia was founded in the sixteenth century and later became known as Iran.

20) Prussia

Became a Duchy in 1660 and a kingdom in the following century. At its greatest extent it included the northern two-thirds of Germany and western Poland. Prussia, by World War II a federal unit of Germany, was fully disbanded at the end of World War II.

21) Rhodesia

Zimbabwe was known as Rhodesia (named after British diplomat Cecil Rhodes) prior to 1980.

22) Scotland, Wales, and England

Despite recent advances in autonomy, part of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, both Scotland and Wales were independent nations that were merged with England to form the U.K.

23) Siam

Changed its name to Thailand in 1939.

24) Sikkim

Now part of far northern India, Sikkim was an independent monarchy from the 17th century until 1975.

25) South Vietnam

Now part of a unified Vietnam, South Vietnam existed from 1954 to 1976 as the anti-communist portion of Vietnam.

26) Southwest Africa

Gained independence and became Namibia in 1990.

27) Taiwan

While Taiwan still exists, it is not always considered an independent country. However, it did represent China in the United Nations until 1971.

28) Tanganyika and Zanzibar

These two African countries united in 1964 to form Tanzania.

29) Texas

The Republic of Texas gained independence from Mexico in 1836 and existed as an independent country until annexation to the United States in 1845.

30) Tibet

A kingdom established in the 7th century, Tibet was invaded by China in 1950 and has since been known as the Xizang Autonomous Region of China.

31) Transjordan

Became the independent kingdom of Jordan in 1946.

32) Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR)

Broke into fifteen new countries in 1991: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Estonia, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Moldovia, Russia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, and Uzbekistan.

33) United Arab Republic

From 1958 to 1961, non-neighbors Syria and Egypt merged to become a unified country. In 1961 Syria abandoned the alliance but Egypt kept the name United Arab Republic itself for another decade.

34) Urjanchai Republic

South-central Russia; independent from 1912 to 1914.

35) Vermont

In 1777 Vermont declared independence and existed as an independent country until 1791, when it became the first state to enter the United States after the thirteen colonies.

36) West Florida

Parts of Florida, MIssissippi, and Louisana were independent for ninety days in 1810.

37) Western Samoa

Changed its name to Samoa in 1998.

38) Yugoslavia

The original Yugoslavia divided up into Bosnia, Croatia, Macedonia, Serbia and Montenegro, and Slovenia in the early 1990s.

39) Zaire

Changed its name to the Democratic Republic of the Congo in 1997.

40) Zanzibar and Tanganyika

merged to form Tanzania in 1964.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here